GOP devil child mesmerizes the nation

Piper Palin stole the show during last night’s telecast of the Republican National Convention.

She succeeded in winning over the hearts of America. Fortunately for us right-wing, fundie demons, our children have horns and tails that are retractable, too!

We can’t have that, now can we?

Andrew Sullivan at The Atlantic (via Ace of Spades) gets snarky about parading such cute, right-wing offspring before the nation:

Did I just see Cindy holding Trig? I mean: can we have it one way or the other? Either the family is out of bounds or it is in the spotlight. Brandishing a child with Down Syndrome as a campaign statement is daring the press to ask questions about him.

And the AP piles on at Google News:

Analysis: GOP contradicts self on Palin family

Back off and let the Palin family be. “That’s out of bounds,” said Minnesota’s Republican governor, Tim Pawlenty. “There’s no need to be intrusive and pry into that.”…. The Republican message about the Palin offspring comes across as contradictory: Hey, media, leave those kids alone — so we can use them as we see fit.

Remind me again why Chelsea Clinton was off-limits when her father was President? Didn’t the Clintons trot her out for the requisite “happy family” photo ops? Sorry, I forgot: the rules of civility only apply when we’re talking about Democrats. Republicans and their children are fair game.

Update: Possibly one of the sickest things I’ve ever seen on the Internet (via The Jawa Report): I Miss My Mommy.

3 Comments

Filed under GOP, Hypocrisy, Media bias, Piper Palin, Politics, right-wing, RNC

3 responses to “GOP devil child mesmerizes the nation

  1. I just stopped by your blog and thought I would say hello. I like your site design. Looking forward to reading more down the road.

  2. LOL Those oh so politically useful children were in their seats watching their mother during a singularly momentous occasion. They weren’t trotted out.

    The media conveniently ignores the fact that it was themselves who chose to focus their cameras on the children, not Palin and the GOP. Instead of filming the speaker, they preferred to film her children.

    Ah well, it’ll turn around and bite them in the ass this time. Of that I’m quite sure.

  3. Maysman

    I am willing to be bitten… If you can not appreciate the impossibly cute kids of Obama & Palin, do not visit my blog at http://fuanglada.wordpress.com/
    Teaser: I’d do the Obama kids but I am a Republican… And… I would and do appreciate how well the Obama’s have raised those two girls.

Leave a Reply

